Skip to main content





By constructing and modernising the transport network, traffic flow capacity is increased, which increases trade flows and reduces negative impacts on the environment.


Relating to the Community’s commitments, the emphasis is particularly on the trans-European transport network. The comprehensive transport network which is located on so-called Pan-European Corridors V and X, i.e. for road and railway routes, also includes the port of Koper and the airports in Ljubljana, Maribor and Portorož.


Slovenia has been part of the Trans-European Transport Network (hereinafter: TEN-T) since 1 May 2004, i.e. since its accession to the EU on the basis of a pre-accession agreement. On this basis, Decision No 884/2004/EC amending Decision No 1692/96/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council of 23 July 1996 on Community guidelines for the development of the trans-European transport network entered into force, with priority TEN-T projects also in new Member States. In addition to projects of common interest in the TEN-T, there is also another important category of priority projects of European interest.


Currently, there are thirty such priority projects, of which two are important for Slovenia in Decision No 884/2004/EC:

  • no. 6, which is on line Lyon–Trieste–Divača/Koper–Divača–Ljubljana–Budapest–Ukrainian border, and
  • no. 21 intended for the establishment of motorways of the sea in the Eastern Mediterranean which connect the Adriatic to the Ionian Sea and Eastern Mediterranean.

To promote investment in the trans-European network and also in the regional network, several financial instruments were established at Community level for 27 Member States:

  • Community budgetary funds for TEN-T,
  • Cohesion Fund (CF),
  • European Regional Development Fund (ERDF),
  • Instrument for Structural Policies for Pre-Accession (ISPA, PHARE),
  • Loans from the European Investment Bank (EIB).